Schachcomputer.info Community

Zurück   Schachcomputer.info Community > Schachcomputer / Chess Computer: > Technische Fragen und Probleme / Tuning


Antwort
 
Themen-Optionen Ansicht

  #1  
Alt 08.12.2017, 14:47
Benutzerbild von berger
berger berger ist offline
Mephisto Lyon
 
Registriert seit: 27.05.2013
Ort: Barcelona (Catalonia)
Beiträge: 164
Abgegebene Danke: 352
Erhielt 428 Danke für 115 Beiträge
Aktivitäten Langlebigkeit
6/20 11/20
Heute Beiträge
1/3 ssssss164
Frage Saitek Maestro/Analyst - Reparing/Tuning

Hallo,

Those of you who have needed to replace the CPU of a Maestro/Analyst module, either by repair or overclocking... have you been able to use a modern WDC-14MHz without problems? What modifications have you made to the module? I mean, apart from those recommended by the WDC company. I am concerned that it is not enough to replace some of the ICs (HCT with HC, ...) due to the interaction with the motherboard of the chess board (Galileo, Renaissance, ...)

Note: I'm not talking about running the module at 14MHz... but at its original speed (4, 6, ...) using a modern W65C02S6TPG-14.

Any technical suggestion is welcome...

Danke!

Regards,
Gerardo M. (aka Berger)

Geändert von berger (08.12.2017 um 14:54 Uhr)
Mit Zitat antworten
  #2  
Alt 09.12.2017, 10:27
Drahti Drahti ist offline
Revelation
 
Registriert seit: 27.02.2016
Ort: An der Schleuse
Land:
Beiträge: 728
Abgegebene Danke: 600
Erhielt 386 Danke für 252 Beiträge
Aktivitäten Langlebigkeit
4/20 8/20
Heute Beiträge
1/3 ssssss728
AW: Saitek Maestro/Analyst - Reparing/Tuning

Hi Gerardo,

if it is only about replacing the CPU I can send you an "old style" Rockwell or Ricoh which will do the job for the next years.

I have experience with WDC 14 CPU in Polgar and MM V and it works well, also with tuning at 10 MHz. In MM II there are problems with LED control. In SuMo and Monte Carlo it works well as replacement, but for tuning at 8 MHz you need to replace some ICs with faster versions for correct display function.

Some of the modifications necessary at WDC 14 are a little bit strange. Pin 8 (5V power) has to bend out of the socket and connected to Pin 36 which also has to be bent out. So, knowbody knows where 5V power comes from, but it works fine.

Cheers,
Andreas
Mit Zitat antworten
  #3  
Alt 09.12.2017, 15:41
Benutzerbild von berger
berger berger ist offline
Mephisto Lyon
 
Registriert seit: 27.05.2013
Ort: Barcelona (Catalonia)
Beiträge: 164
Abgegebene Danke: 352
Erhielt 428 Danke für 115 Beiträge
Aktivitäten Langlebigkeit
6/20 11/20
Heute Beiträge
1/3 ssssss164
Re: Saitek Maestro/Analyst - Reparing/Tuning

Hi,

Thank you very much for your answer and for your offer, but my question is not oriented in that direction.

I have adapted the W65C02S6TPG-14 on quite a few computers without problems (Mephisto, Fidelity, ...), always following the manufacturer's guidelines:

http://www.westerndesigncenter.com/w...placements.cfm

My problem is specifically with the Saitek Maestro/Analyst modules. Almost all logic ICs are HCT, and although I have managed to run the module autonomously by changing some ICs, the operation is not reliable and the interaction with the chessboard is not good.

I have many original 4MHz CPUs, which work perfectly at 5MHz, and more with the right power supply. But I have finished my stock of 6 and 8 MHz... and the last 10MHz purchased are counterfeits.

Best regards,
Berger
Mit Zitat antworten
  #4  
Alt 09.12.2017, 21:43
Drahti Drahti ist offline
Revelation
 
Registriert seit: 27.02.2016
Ort: An der Schleuse
Land:
Beiträge: 728
Abgegebene Danke: 600
Erhielt 386 Danke für 252 Beiträge
Aktivitäten Langlebigkeit
4/20 8/20
Heute Beiträge
1/3 ssssss728
AW: Saitek Maestro/Analyst - Reparing/Tuning

It is fact that there are devices around which will NOT work with WDC 14 used according to manufactures guidelines. Sometimes it works with strange modifications like described above. And sometimes... it doesn't work at all.

For Analyst module I know that there are tuned versions with 16 Mhz around. So it should be possible to adapt WDC 14 for this module. Try the mod and look what will happen...
Mit Zitat antworten
Folgender Benutzer sagt Danke zu Drahti für den nützlichen Beitrag:
berger (10.12.2017)
  #5  
Alt 10.12.2017, 01:10
Benutzerbild von berger
berger berger ist offline
Mephisto Lyon
 
Registriert seit: 27.05.2013
Ort: Barcelona (Catalonia)
Beiträge: 164
Abgegebene Danke: 352
Erhielt 428 Danke für 115 Beiträge
Aktivitäten Langlebigkeit
6/20 11/20
Heute Beiträge
1/3 ssssss164
Re: AW: Saitek Maestro/Analyst - Reparing/Tuning

 Zitat von Drahti Beitrag anzeigen
For Analyst module I know that there are tuned versions with 16 Mhz around.
I know. That's why I asked here... because I saw that one Analyst at 16MHz was taking part in a tournament.

Well... I'll keep trying and discuss the results here if I succeed.

Regards,
Berger
Mit Zitat antworten
Folgender Benutzer sagt Danke zu berger für den nützlichen Beitrag:
kamoj (03.09.2023)
  #6  
Alt 08.10.2023, 14:46
kamoj kamoj ist offline
Mephisto III
 
Registriert seit: 11.05.2021
Ort: Sweden
Beiträge: 47
Abgegebene Danke: 2.209
Erhielt 105 Danke für 34 Beiträge
Aktivitäten Langlebigkeit
4/20 3/20
Heute Beiträge
1/3 sssssss47
Re: Saitek Maestro/Analyst - Reparing/Tuning

 Zitat von berger Beitrag anzeigen
Hallo,

Those of you who have needed to replace the CPU of a Maestro/Analyst module, either by repair or overclocking... have you been able to use a modern WDC-14MHz without problems? What modifications have you made to the module? I mean, apart from those recommended by the WDC company. I am concerned that it is not enough to replace some of the ICs (HCT with HC, ...) due to the interaction with the motherboard of the chess board (Galileo, Renaissance, ...)

Note: I'm not talking about running the module at 14MHz... but at its original speed (4, 6, ...) using a modern W65C02S6TPG-14.

Any technical suggestion is welcome...

Danke!

Regards,
Gerardo M. (aka Berger)
Hello Gerardo,
I borrowed Ulf's Analyst 8 MHz module and a Galileo board.
It works OK by just replacing the CPU with a W65C02S6TPG-14.
I just bent out pin 1 and 5,
and connected a wire between pin 8 and 36.
(No changes to PCB or Galileo needed.)
/Lars
Mit Zitat antworten
Folgender Benutzer sagt Danke zu kamoj für den nützlichen Beitrag:
achimp (08.10.2023)
  #7  
Alt 08.10.2023, 15:34
Benutzerbild von berger
berger berger ist offline
Mephisto Lyon
 
Registriert seit: 27.05.2013
Ort: Barcelona (Catalonia)
Beiträge: 164
Abgegebene Danke: 352
Erhielt 428 Danke für 115 Beiträge
Aktivitäten Langlebigkeit
6/20 11/20
Heute Beiträge
1/3 ssssss164
Re: Saitek Maestro/Analyst - Reparing/Tuning

 Zitat von kamoj Beitrag anzeigen
Hello Gerardo,
I borrowed Ulf's Analyst 8 MHz module and a Galileo board.
It works OK by just replacing the CPU with a W65C02S6TPG-14.
I just bent out pin 1 and 5,
and connected a wire between pin 8 and 36.
(No changes to PCB or Galileo needed.)
/Lars
Hello Lars,

Yes, I know. I asked that question 6 years ago, and subsequently I have made this substitution successfully on several occasions. But I don't agree: in some modules it is not enough with the changes you mention, and it is necessary to connect all the system clock signal to PHI0 and no longer use PHI2.

I'm sorry I did not remember this Forum thread later because I would have shared that.

Best,
Gerardo
Mit Zitat antworten
Folgender Benutzer sagt Danke zu berger für den nützlichen Beitrag:
kamoj (08.10.2023)
  #8  
Alt 08.10.2023, 15:48
kamoj kamoj ist offline
Mephisto III
 
Registriert seit: 11.05.2021
Ort: Sweden
Beiträge: 47
Abgegebene Danke: 2.209
Erhielt 105 Danke für 34 Beiträge
Aktivitäten Langlebigkeit
4/20 3/20
Heute Beiträge
1/3 sssssss47
Re: Saitek Maestro/Analyst - Reparing/Tuning

Haha, yes, I see.
Thank you for the reply!

I have a lot to read.
Six years ago I had not yet got the new interest for chess computers.
I read the forum threads day after day, trying to learn.

It's actually strange there is not one single active forum thread about the
use of W65C02S6TPG-14 for repair/tuning.
Mit Zitat antworten
  #9  
Alt 08.10.2023, 16:11
Benutzerbild von berger
berger berger ist offline
Mephisto Lyon
 
Registriert seit: 27.05.2013
Ort: Barcelona (Catalonia)
Beiträge: 164
Abgegebene Danke: 352
Erhielt 428 Danke für 115 Beiträge
Aktivitäten Langlebigkeit
6/20 11/20
Heute Beiträge
1/3 ssssss164
Re: Saitek Maestro/Analyst - Reparing/Tuning

 Zitat von kamoj Beitrag anzeigen
It's actually strange there is not one single active forum thread about the use of W65C02S6TPG-14 for repair/tuning.
Well... I think it has been discussed somewhere, but I can't remember where!

The truth is that my relationship with this microprocessor is a love/hate one. Thanks to it, and to the North American company that continues developing it (WDC) we have been able to do many repairs, new projects, etc. But on the other hand, the lack of backward compatibility has sometimes driven me crazy, working well on some computers, and badly on others apparently the same. What I can say is that, apart from the changes proposed by the manufacturer itself (read here), many problems derive from the "quality" of the system clock signal:

 Zitat von WDC
All internal clock signals for the W65C02S are generated by the input clock signal Ø2 (IN/PHI2I). WDC recommends using a clock oscillator for PHI2I. Also, PHI2I should be used for the system clock.

Best,
Gerardo
Mit Zitat antworten
Folgender Benutzer sagt Danke zu berger für den nützlichen Beitrag:
achimp (08.10.2023)
  #10  
Alt 08.10.2023, 16:47
kamoj kamoj ist offline
Mephisto III
 
Registriert seit: 11.05.2021
Ort: Sweden
Beiträge: 47
Abgegebene Danke: 2.209
Erhielt 105 Danke für 34 Beiträge
Aktivitäten Langlebigkeit
4/20 3/20
Heute Beiträge
1/3 sssssss47
Re: Saitek Maestro/Analyst - Reparing/Tuning

 Zitat von berger Beitrag anzeigen
...many problems derive from the "quality" of the system clock signal:...
Yes , I agree with that too.
That is one of the reasons (e.g. Conchess) the quartz crystals often run at double speed than the CPU - to shape the system clock signal better!
Mit Zitat antworten
Antwort

Themen-Optionen
Ansicht

Forumregeln
Du bist nicht berechtigt, neue Themen zu erstellen.
Du bist nicht berechtigt, auf Beiträge zu antworten.
Du bist nicht berechtigt, Anhänge hochzuladen.
Du bist nicht berechtigt, deine Beiträge zu bearbeiten.

BB code ist An
Smileys sind An.
[IMG] Code ist An.
HTML-Code ist An.

Gehe zu

Ähnliche Themen
Thema Erstellt von Forum Antworten Letzter Beitrag
Idee: Maestro in Analyst umwandeln hirni Technische Fragen und Probleme / Tuning 3 23.06.2015 17:09
Partie: Mephisto Risc II-Saitek Analyst D++,16 MHz user204 Partien und Turniere / Games and Tournaments 15 13.12.2008 20:26
Frage: Saitek Analyst Module ? Mogoe Die ganze Welt der Schachcomputer / World of chess computers 4 30.05.2005 17:51


Alle Zeitangaben in WEZ +1. Es ist jetzt 17:21 Uhr.



Powered by vBulletin (Deutsch)
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©Schachcomputer.info